How I Deal with Writer’s Block

At some point in time all writers will be plagued with the dreaded Writer’s Block and how they overcome that block on their creativity is very important. It’s also something that every writer will be asked about, either by other writers or curious readers. Each writer is different both in how they experience Writer’s Block and in how they overcome it. For me there is really only one thing that works: take a break from writing and read.

That’s right, reading is what generally pulls me out of a creative slump. It’s not that I completely stop writing or forget about the story that I’m working on, it’s more that I take a break from trying to force it and do something that I enjoy. Usually that is reading. The two activities are so closely related that doing one without the other isn’t logical. In reading I am able to gain new insights on things to do with my own writing. Every time I read I find some new technique that I want to try–or in some cases something to avoid–and this helps put me back into the right frame of mind for writing. So when I start to feel panicky because words aren’t flowing from my brain and through my fingers, I take a day or two just to read a book that I’ve been excited about and the creative sparks begin to fly!

So when you feel overwhelmed and ideas aren’t flowing how you would like for them to, sit down and read a book. I think you’ll be surprised at how helpful this can actually be. I know it works wonders for me.

C P Cabaniss

3 thoughts on “How I Deal with Writer’s Block

    1. I don’t think I’ve ever had a reading slump. There have been periods when I haven’t read for a while, but it was usually do to the circumstances of life than that I didn’t feel like reading. So when people start talking about reading slumps, I never can relate! ha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment